Filing a Claim for Texas Workers Compensation?

Texas Personal Injury and Estate Planning Attorney Marc Mayfield | www.mayfieldlawoffice.com
Texas Personal Injury and Estate Planning Attorney Marc Mayfield | www.mayfieldlawoffice.com

Many workers are injured every year in Texas. The number of people who are unaware of the proper steps to take when injured is astounding. Many times it is because employees have faith in the company they work for to handle their claim properly. This isn’t always a safe assumption to make. It is important to know for yourself what should be done and when it should be done. It might also be a good idea to make sure your spouse or loved ones also know the proper protocol to avoid any unnecessary delays.

Important Fact No. 1

When injured on the job in Texas, you must report your injury to your employer within 30 days from the date of injury. You can lose the right to benefits if this criteria has not been met. This cannot be stressed enough.

Steps to File a Claim for Texas Workers Compensation

Report Your injury to your employer.

Make sure you get a copy of the accident report from your employer the day you report it. This is your documentation that you reported your injury timely.

Next you need to fill out an Employees Claim for Compensation for a Work-Related Injury (DWC Form-041). This form must be completed and filed with the Division of Workers’ Compensation within 1 year from your date of injury. Sometimes your employer will file this paperwork for you, other times you may need to send in this form yourself.

Make sure the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers Compensation has received your claim for compensation.

After your claim has been established, be sure to know your rights and time frames for various aspects of your claim. Speak with your adjuster and do what is necessary on your part.

If at any time during the claim process you become uncertain what your rights are, or simply need help with it, Mayfield Law Office is here to help.

Filing your Forms

Forms from the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers Compensation can be accessed here.

All forms can be filed in any manner below.

Email:  DWC-ComplianceReview@tdi.texas.gov

Fax:  512-490-1030

In Person:  At a DWC Field Office

Mail:

Texas Department of Insurance
    Division of Workers’ Compensation, MS-8
    7551 Metro Center Drive, Suite 100
    Austin, Texas 78744


Texas Personal Injury and Estate Planning Attorney Marc Mayfield | www.mayfieldlawoffice.com

Proudly Representing Clients in a Broad Range of Legal Matters


Copyright Mayfield Law Office 2019 – All Rights Reserved


Published by Marc Mayfield

Marc Mayfield is board-certified in personal injury trial law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization.

%d bloggers like this: