Got to Love East Texas!

Whataburger to give a free Whataburger to individuals who bring 2 non-perishable items to a participating location, in an effort to help stop hunger. Click here to read more!

East Texas Giving at these Participating Locations:
Bullard, Texas | Chandler, Texas | Henderson, Texas | Kilgore, Texas | Lindale, Texas | Mineola, Texas | and Tyler, Texas

What is an Affidavit of Heirship?

Texas_Attorney_Marc_Mayfield

An Affidavit of Heirship can be used to transfer real property, such as land, from a decedent to their heirs at law. This is a way to transfer property if a decedent did not leave a will, or if the they did leave a will, but the will was not probated within four years of the decedents death.

To file an Affidavit of Heirship you will need 2 people who knew the decedent, who are unrelated or who will not benefit from the Affidavit, to sign the affidavit in front of a notary public. This document must be filed in the county where the property is located. The County Clerk of said county can provide specific fees for filing.

If you need help filing or have any questions regarding an Affidavit of Heirship, please do not hesitate to contact our office. We are here to help!

How Do I File a Claim with the Texas Department of Insurance Division of Workers Compensation?

When injured on the job in Texas, you must report your injury to your employer within 30 days from the date of injury. You can lose the right to benefits if this criteria has not been met. Make sure you get a copy of the accident report from your employer the day you report it. This is your documentation that you reported your injury timely. Next you need to fill out an Employee’s Claim for Compensation for a Work-Related Injury (DWC Form-041). This form must be completed and filed with the Division of Workers’ Compensation within 1 year from your date of injury. Sometimes your employer will file this paperwork for you, other times you may need to send in this form yourself. This form can be filled out online through the Division of Workers Comp. To do so, follow this link (here) to find your local field office. The forms may also be mailed to the following address:

Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation
7551 Metro Center Drive, Suite 100 MS-93
Austin, TX, 78744-1645

If you have any questions regarding you work related injury or your rights to benefits, don’t hesitate to contact us. We are here to help.